

1. DISCUSS THE DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THE COUNCIL OF MINISTERS AND THE CABINET.

It is a wider body consisting of 60 to 70 ministers. It includes all the three categories of ministers, that is, cabinet ministers, ministers of state, and deputy ministers. It does not meet, as a body, to transact government business. It has no collective functions. It is vested with all powers but in theory. Its functions are determined by the cabinet. It is a constitutional body, dealt in detail by the Articles 74 and 75 of the Constitution. Its size is determined by the prime minister according to the exigencies of the time and requirements of the situation. 7. It is collectively responsible to the Lower House of the Parliament.

It is a smaller body consisting of 15 to 20 ministers. It includes the cabinet ministers only. Thus, it is a part of the council of ministers. It meets, as a body, frequently and usually once in a week to deliberate and take decisions regarding the transaction of government business. Thus, it has collective functions. It exercises, in practice, the powers of the council of ministers and thus, acts for the latter. It directs the council of ministers by taking policy decisions which are binding- on all ministers. It was inserted in Article 352 of the Constitution in 1978 by the 44th Constitutional Amendment Act. Thus, it did not find a place in the original text of the Constitution. It enforces the collective responsibility of the council of ministers to the Lower House of Parliament.

